Arkansas All-Star Weekend Debuts April 4 and 5 in Hot Springs

A new college basketball event debuts next weekend (Friday April 4 and Saturday April 5) in Hot Springs at Summit Arena.
The Arkansas Alumni Classic presents Arkansas All-Star Weekend. The event is the brainchild of AAC’s Byron Jenkins, of Springdale, and partner Travoris Akins of LIttle Rock. AAC has promoted high school football game doubleheaders and high school basketball tournaments in Little Rock in the past, but this is the group’s first event showcasing former college athletes.1236084_4093996844928_1186955938_n
The event features an All-Star game pitting  the state’s Top 20 men’s and women’s college senior players against each other. Fans voted during the season to determine the top players and competitors in the exhibition. While not all of the men’s and women’s players have confirmed —all but one of the  University of Arkansas’ five seniors are currently committed. Word on Kikko Haydar should come next week.
The women play on Saturday at 3:30 p.m. at Summit Arena followed by the men’s game at 5:30 and a legend’s game at 7:30. A pregame autograph session is planned from 1 to 3 p.m.
The legends game is a mix of former college football and basketball players, including Razorbacks basketball players Al Dillard, Todd Day, Clint McDaniel, Reggie Merritt, Marcus Monk, Nick Mason, Butch Morris, Carl Baker, Stefan Welsh and Dwight Stewart. Former Hog football players include, Marcus Monk, Carl Kidd, Sam Olajubutu, Stacy Andrews (of Camden and Ole Miss), Ben Cleveland, Marcus Campbell and Anthony Eubanks. Other players may be added.
A three-point shootout and slam dunk contest is also planned for Saturday night.

Also at 9 a.m. Saturday at Summit Arena, Dillard, the deadly, long-range shooter on Arkansas 1994 National Championship team plans a shooting clinic for kids. Capping the weekend at 10 p.m. Saturday, is the All-Star Weekend Party. A tip-off luncheon and meet-and-greet autograph session are also scheduled for Friday.
For more information go to or to to purchase tickets.

Men’s Top 20 players
1. Mardracus Wade, Arkansas
2. Rickey Scott,  Arkansas
3. Coty Clarke,  Arkansas
4. Fred Gulley, Arkansas
5. Kikko Haydar,  Arkansas
6. Mike Evans, UALR
7. Leroy Isler, UALR
8. Will Neighbour, UALR (injured)
9. Ed Townsell, ASU
10. Kendrick Washington ASU
11. Kirk Van Slyke ASU
12. Davon Haynes, UAPB
13. Daniel Broughton, UAPB
14. Melvin Haynes, Henderson State
15. Deoirvay Johnson, Henderson State
16. Deshone McClure, UCA
17. LaQuentin Miles, UCA
18. Brandon Reed, Arkansas State
19. Brandon Sims, Arkansas-Monticello
20. Ryan Williams, UCA

Women’s Top 20 players
1. Keira Peak, Arkansas
2. Jane Morrill, Arkansas State
3. Carlisha Wyatt, Arkansas State
4. Lauren Crenshaw, Harding
5. Deshelle Isaac Boyce, Harding
6. Katy Preaus, Harding
7. Tonja Steed, Harding
8. Kristen Celsor, Harding
9. Carlette Wyatt, Arkansas State
10. Lauren Harrison, Harding
11. Hannah Fohne, UALR
12. Nia Gregorory, UALR
13. Christina Lasane, UAPB
14. Marion Thompson, UAPB
15. Micah Rice, UCA
16. Courtney Duever, UCA
17. Katlin McNeil, Hendrix
18. Jamie Tate, Hendrix
19. Krystal Beachum, HSU
20. Nashia James, OBU